San Antonio Midwives                Information about midwives for San Antonio families



The San Antonio Area Midwives Association


       About Midwives                    

Promoting Safe Choices in Childbirth     


Find A Midwife

About Midwives

Home Birth

Childbirth Options






















Site Map

Midwives In Texas...

There are two types of midwives which may legally practice in the state of Texas: Certified Nurse Midwives (CNM) and Licensed Midwives (LM). Some CNMs and LMs may also be Certified Professional Midwives (CPM).

Licensed Midwives

Licensed Midwives are direct-entry midwives. This means they are not required to be nurses prior to beginning their midwifery education. Licensed Midwives in Texas are regulated by The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation.

Licensed Midwives are skilled professionals in normal pregnancy and childbirth. They may independently manage women's health care services relating to pregnancy, childbirth, and the postpartum period. They also provide normal newborn care for up to six weeks of age. Licensed Midwives attend women in home or birth center births.

To become licensed in Texas, a midwife must:

  1. Become Certified by the North American Registry of Midwives (Certified  Professional  Midwife or CPM) or

  2. Complete midwifery training through a state approved midwifery program and then pass the North American Registry of Midwives (NARM) exam. This process also qualifies her to become a CPM.

The Midwifery Board also requires annual continuing education for Licensed Midwives.

What is a Certified Professional Midwife?

A Certified Professional Midwife (CPM) is a knowledgeable, skilled and professional independent midwifery practitioner who has met the standards for certification set by the North American Registry of Midwives (NARM) and is qualified to provide the midwifery model of care. The CPM is the only international credential that requires knowledge about and experience in out-of-hospital settings.

The Certified Professional Midwife (CPM) credential requires that all candidates demonstrate successful mastery of both the didactic information and clinical experience components. The didactic component must include either education in a program accredited by the Midwifery Education Accreditation Council (MEAC) or ACNM Certification Council (ACC), or completion of PEP, a competency-based education program. Each candidate must also complete a clinical component that is at least one year in length and equivalent to 1350 contact hours under the supervision of one or more approved preceptors. Recertification every three years is required of all CPMs.


Please Note: You may read the term 'Lay Midwife' on web sites from outside of Texas, or hear the term from a physician, CNM, or hospital personnel. However, lay-midwifery is illegal in the State of Texas. Licensed and/or Certified Professional Midwives are not lay midwives. Some health care providers are unaware of this fact and do not understand the difference.

February 2009 San Antonio Area Midwives Association